How to Save Changes Without Publishing in WordPress

Would you want to save changes to a WordPress post or page without them being published?

You may need to make modifications to a post or page that has already been published, but you don’t want to publish them right immediately.

We’ll show you how to save your changes in WordPress without publishing them in this article.

How to save changes in WordPress without publishing them (2 ways)

Why Save Changes Without Publishing Posts and Pages in WordPress?

Adding new blog articles and pages is a breeze with WordPress.

If you update a post or page that is already online, however, it will immediately overwrite the existing content.

What if you want to write an update, store it, and then post it later? This is great if you need more time to edit your draft or if you have a multi-author blog and want to approve changes before they go live.

The only option to do this by default is to change it back to a draft and then republish the material after the edits are complete. However, converting a published article to a draft results in a 404 error, which can harm your SEO.

Another option is to make a new draft and copy and paste the material, but this will not transfer the categories and tags, as well as your featured image and other information.

Fortunately, you can generate a cloned version of any page or post on your WordPress website using a WordPress plugin and save the draft without publishing it. After that, you may combine the modifications and edit the published content when you’re ready.

This comes in handy whether you’re rebuilding a website, replicating landing pages, rewriting existing material, editing, and more.

Let us now demonstrate how to save your changes in WordPress without publishing them.

Saving Changes in WordPress Without Publishing

The Duplicate Post plugin is the simplest way to save changes without publishing them live.

With a single click, this plugin copies any page or post in WordPress, including all of the original settings. After that, you can merge your modifications and update the original post when you’re ready.

The first step is to install and activate the plugin. See our step-by-step guide on installing a WordPress plugin for more information.

Navigate to Posts » All Posts in your WordPress admin panel after activation.

Then, when you hover over a post, you’ll see three additional options: ‘Clone,’ ‘New Draft,’ and ‘Rewrite & Republish.’

Duplicate Options for new plugins

To begin, go to the ‘Rewrite & Republish’ link.

This will make a copy of the post and open it in the post editing screen.

You can edit this post as much as you like and save it without it going live. Simply click the ‘Save’ option in the right hand corner of the page to save the article. It will also save your changes as you make them.

Save the updated version

In your WordPress post dashboard, the post will be saved as a draft, which you may access later.

Next to the post name, it will indicate ‘Draft, Rewrite, and Republish.’

In the post dashboard, republish the post.

Click the ‘Republish’ button when you’re ready to go live.

It will prompt you to republish the post and combine your new changes into the live version. When you’re ready, click the ‘Republish’ button once more.

Click the ‘Save changes and compare’ option if you want to review your changes.

Press the republish button.

This displays a side-by-side revision screen with the differences highlighted in green.

If you’re happy with the modifications, go to the top of the screen and select the ‘Return to editor’ option.

View the modifications that have been saved.

You can also adjust the date on which your modified post will be published. If you want the changes to take effect immediately, don’t change the date.

If you want to publish in the future, simply select the ‘Republish:’ option and set the date to a future date.

Change the publication date.

Then press the ‘Republish’ button once more.

The original post has been replaced with the updated post, according to the notification at the top of the page.

Republish the previous message

The changes you made to the cloned post will now take the place of the original version on that date.

We hope this post taught you how to save changes in WordPress without publishing them.